Beer Shopping

I accompanied my cider loving fellow blogger to the bottled beer heaven that is Stirchley Wines and picked up a couple of bottles. How do you choose when you’re faced with wall to wall bottles?

citysuppers-stirchley-wines-birmingham

I wanted to try an American ale so opted for a bottle of Brooklyn Brewery East India Pale Ale

citysuppers-brooklyn-east-india-pale-ale-beer-bottle

Drinkable but nothing special.

I’ve had Brooklyn on draught before but never tried their Pale Ale. The flavour was ok. But if I’m honest nothing special. Potentially a good gateway ale when converting lager drinkers.

My second purchase was from the Kernel Brewery East London, a simply branded bottle of Centennial. Now this is what I call a good beer. Slightly cloudy when I poured it out, this might be the yeast sediment. I found it to have a slightly citrus taste and lovely and hoppy. I put this on a par with Thornbridge Jaipur. However beware this bottle of goodness is 7.2% ABV.

The Kernal, Centennial

The Kernal, Centennial

As I was enjoying this delightful ale I thought I’d do a little research on who these guys are and came across a great video showing how much love and passion gets put into these beers. I can’t recommend this beer enough. In fact I was Tweeting while drinking and quite a few people agreed this is a truly wonderful ale. A Twitter recommendation from @SteveRascal has lead me to my next purchase, The Kernel Table Beer.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Beer and ale

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

