The dirtiest beer on earth Cantillon Gueze

The dirtiest beer on earth Cantillon Gueze
A visit to the Craven Arms is always full of surprises – not just due to the ever changing ales but also some characters we’ve met since the re-launch earlier this year. On this particular Friday night we were met by the ever enthusiastic landlord who was keen to draw our attention the one particular bottled beer.

belgian beer

Cantillion – you open it with a corksrew. And beware it’s SOUR!

This wasn’t something I’d seen or tasted before so naturally thought I’d give it a go.

Apparently it was a very unusual but well regard Belgium beer, and judging by the amount of empty bottles consumed by a group of guys at the bar it seemed like a good bet . The description from the trusty landlord said it could be confused with cider on first taste, interesting/odd. Oh and it’s quite sour. This turned out to be a massive understatement. And this wasn’t the most interesting thing the landlord revealed about this particular beer – Cantillon Gueze.

After I’d sipped several mouthfuls we were informed that this could in fact be viewed as quite a dirty beer, literally. Apparently, and Google research is yet to prove whether this is a myth, the beer is brewed in the arches of the brewery right up in the eaves among the cobwebs and bats. It’s here it’s left to ferment. The natural yeast flies around in the moth ridden lofts of the Belgian brewery and lands in the stale hops. DISCLAIMER this might not have been understood and interrupted correctly but it’s how it sounded at the time.

After hearing this description of the brewing process I could literally taste the sour hops fermenting in my mouth. And not in a good way.

However everyone else in the pub, well I say everyone else, a handful of beer experts gathered round the bar, thought it was the best thing since sliced bread.

Lesson number one in my attempt to be a beer geek is to realise that dirty hops are not my thing.

Since this evening I’ve done some research into the Cantillon Brewery and they have some incredible heritage and passion for the beers they make so I’m sure they won’t miss one Brummie drinker.

I was glad to go back to a pint of BG Tips from http://www.bluemonkeybrewery.com/. Maybe lesson number two is that I like British beer best.
Blue Monkey Brewery

Ahhh that’s better. A local British beer.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Beer and ale

2 Comments on “The dirtiest beer on earth Cantillon Gueze”

  1. May 2, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

    sorry….I love it! Really, Really do! There’s so much good in Geuze, but I do agree that it’s an acquired taste!

    • May 2, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

      I’m going to try it again, I think it was a little bit of a assault on my taste buds at first. I’ll be more prepared next time.

Leave a Reply

